top of page

To the Fathers

It's Father's Day, and it allows us to reflect on the importance of the men in our lives, be they our earthly father, fatherly figures, or our Heavenly Father.

I will be the first to admit that this year was a bit different for me. Since Cassie and I are engaged in the process of adoption, the fact that almost nothing has happened yet (beyond the paperwork and fundraising events so far) has been frustrating. We strongly feel the desire to be parents, to follow through on our commitment to have children and to raise them to be good people in the world. Yet, at the same time, we know that we cannot pause our own lives while waiting for this miracle to happen. It requires faith, patience, stamina, and support from family and those who have been through this before.

The world needs fathers. Media and other influences tend to minimize the impact a father can have on a child's life. Men tend to become the focus of jokes. But I do not think that there has been a time where men and fathers are more needed than now, with the world spiraling out of control. We need men to want to be fathers and to follow through on those duties inherent to the role. I want to be a father, and it will happen eventually.

We are grateful to our fathers for their righteous influence in our lives. They are been stalwart at defending their respective families, and have sacrificed much to raise Cassie and I well.

 

On a more fun note, my brother and I treated my father to a few hours of golf on Saturday. It's been years since I actually played 9-holes, but I thought I fared well compared to the more frequent golfers in my family. Enjoy the pictures, and remember to treat the men in your life with respect and love!

bottom of page